Halifax Disaster

I am reading a novel right now which I would have to say is a terrible book and I don’t know how it ever got published – but the part that is interesting is its discussion of the Halifax Disaster.  I was thinking that since this was a novel that there might not be any such real disaster until I looked it up in Wikipedia and found this post:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halifax_Explosion

It was a terrible disaster that occurred in 1917 where 2,000 lost their lives and many lost their sight.

3 Responses to “Halifax Disaster”

  1. Julie Says:

    I read about the Halifax disaster after reading your blog. I had never heard of it…it was never brought up in school but it was major for it’s time and any other time.

  2. crombiezombie Says:

    You are right, Julie – very major. Joe got his Masters in International Studies and his undergraduate degree in History and he never heard of it either!

  3. Stan White Says:

    I had never heard of it either but a major explosion happened in sources of ammunition for the Pacific Theater was the Naval Ammunition Depot at Port Chicago, California. Port Chicago Port Chicago Disaster – July 17, 1944
    my dad was stationed at Mare Island Naval yard and we lived in Vallejo which was about 17 miles from the explosion it was just like an earthquake for us

Leave a comment